My Prescription for a Bad Day

NaBloPoMo November 2016

When I am having a bad day I go out and do things that make me happy.  I feed my spirit.

HALT is the acronym I use to gauge how I am feeling: Hungry; Angry; Lonely; Tired.  This measurement tool was one of the many gifts I learned from my therapist.

Becoming aware of the feeling that something “just does not feel right” is a skill that I have worked to be cognizant.  What am I feeling?  Why am I feeling this way?  What is making me feel that way?  I do an internal check.  Am I hungry?  Am I angry?  Am I lonely?  Am I tired?  Am I a combination of these, or all of these?

It is vital for me to take action in taking care of myself, or I’ll reap the consequences.

My go to arsenal of remedies consist of the following:

If I am physically inside a building, go outside and walk.  Just walk.  Breathe in the fresh air.  Spread my arms wide and feel the open spaces…feel expansion.  Drive.  Drive to the beach.  Walk along Coast Highway.  Put my feet in the wet sand.

Go to a place that is  visually beautiful.  The first place that comes to mind is The Whole Foods Store in Del Mar, California.  I love it there especially in the evening.  Inside it is bright!  It is colorful!   It is visually appealing and it makes me happy!

There are times when staying home is the healing answer.   Put on my pajamas.  Cover myself with as many blankets as possible.  Have a bowl of popcorn and watch Netflix or Hulu.

Then, there’s the line up movies I watch allowing me unbridled and non judgmental emotions:

“While You Were Sleeping”

“Under the Tuscan Sun”

“Sweet Home Alabama”

“Pride and Prejudice”

“The Count of Monte Cristo”

The Indiana Jones Series

“Super8”

“ET”

“The Italian Job”

The Mission Impossible Series

“John Wyck”

“Princess Bride”.

Lastly, all I needed was a hug from one of my kids or one of my best friends to make me feel valuable and whole…once again.  .

4 thoughts on “My Prescription for a Bad Day

  1. physical exercise is good for a bad mood, it actually enhances the hormones and triggers happy signals to your brain.
    I too make it easy to convert a bad day to good day by getting to the floor and exercising hard.
    #NaBloPoMo

Leave a Reply

