A Day in the Life of Heroic Moments

NaBloPoMo November 2016

Google.com defines brave as follows:

  1. “Ready to face and endure danger or pain; showing courage” (adjective);
  2. “People who are ready to face and endure danger or pain” (noun);
  3. ” Endure or face (unpleasant conditions or behavior) without showing fear” (verb).
  4. Synonyms listed: “courageous; valiant; intrepid; heroic; lionhearted; bold; fearless; gallant; daring; plucky; audacious”.

Today, I chose to be brave.

Morning.  That heroic minute when I chose to get out of bed without hitting the snooze button.   That heroic minute when I chose not to flip off the car that cut in front of me on the freeway.  That heroic minute when I chose to greet with a smile each colleague I passed in the work place.

Day.  That heroic minute when I chose to be mindful how I fill the prescriptions for my customers.  That heroic minute when I chose to be grateful for having a job rather than complain of being tired from standing on my feet for 8 hours.  That heroic minute when I chose to show compassion and kindness for those patients who are impatient due to feeling sick and themselves having had a long day in the clinic.  That heroic minute when I chose to create a cheerful work atmosphere rather than get caught up in the annoying, aggravating, and maddening nuances that are part of working in a pharmacy.

Evening.  That heroic minute when I chose to give my son a hug as soon as I entered our home.  That heroic minute when I chose to cook a simple weekday meal or concoct ‘leftover delight’ rather than do ‘Take Out’ or nothing at all.  That heroic minute when I chose to sit down and have dinner with my son.  That heroic minute when I  chose to have dialogue with my son.  That heroic minute when I chose love and relationship above everything else.

Today, I chose to be brave.

One thought on “A Day in the Life of Heroic Moments

  1. Awesome! I never looked at the prompt this way! Yes, we all make a choice to be brave and take one day at a time that life gives us! All the best for the rest of the challenge!

Leave a Reply

